Weezer : A Curse on Aussie Festivals?

August 12, 2011

This week it was announced that Soundwave Revolution had been canned due to problems sorting out headliners (a rant within itself that I could beat with a dead horse, but I will hold off). This kind of sucks for us Weezer fans because there was still a little glimmer of hope that we were going to see some semblance of the band at the festival.

This made me think back to the last time we heard strong rumours of Weezer doing an Aussie festival (as mentioned in this post about Coppell). It was the V Festival which eventually ended up being cancelled before any chance of us seeing Weezer on our shores.

As a person that is really clasping at straw trying to come up with things to post to this blog, I came up with the most reasonable explanation that I could, given these pieces of information:

Weezer are a curse on the Australian festival circuit.

(Couldn’t think of a relevant image for this post, so have a kind-of, sort-of related picture of witchcraftish things. I don’t know).

Just think about it. What was the eventual fate of Livid Festival, the one and only time Weezer came to Australia? Cancelled in 2002.

Could it actually be that it is actually TRUE that Weezer want to tour Australia, but circumstances like this always get in the way of them coming here? Sounds like crazy-talk to me, but let’s digest this information for a while.. say, long enough for me to think of some other crazy-brained theory about Australia’s lack of Weezer goodness.

If I were a festival or tour promoter who was a bit of a believer in curses and hexes and all that good stuff, I would be a little skeptical about getting this band to tour as well. Maybe. Probably not. Hell, I’d still sell everything I own and my grandmother’s beachside apartment to get them to tour here.

Leave a comment